1 Year a Blogger. The (Not So) Extraordinary True Story of an Amateur Film Blogger.

1 year a blogger
Time to get sentimental.
I try not to blog too much about personal, non-movie related stuff, because let’s face it: Who cares? Plus, it’s also very self-indulgent and possibly annoying. But once a year, I’ll allow myself to talk about me for a moment. Now, if you’re still reading this, you’re most likely one of my few good loyal readers, so: Thank you! I’ve been noticing a small increase of views and visitors on BW, so I’m extra happy today, because it means I’m doing my job and I’m doing it well (also: Google search engine optimization). 

1 Year a Blogger. What did I achieve? I remember my first post, a brief review of Wong Kar-wai’s The Grandmaster. I remember sitting in the classroom and editing that review, instead of paying attention to what the professor was saying or the cute girl next to me. I remember being stunned by how many views I got in only a couple of hours and then realizing I indadvertedly caused those views, because as you know after you work on WordPress for a while the site rightfully decides to log you (get a life, biatch!).

In one year of blogging I managed to go to the Locarno International Film Festival, which no one outside of Switzerland cares about, but it was a lot of fun. I wrote 350 posts, but hope nobody actually read the first 200. I improved my writing and argumentation skills, or so I’d like to believe. I met a lot of talented bloggers and people who want to teach you how to make money blogging. I didn’t make any actual money, but I decreased the number of films I watch per week and decided that if a film sucks I’ll just interrupt it.

What’s next? When I started this blog my “secret” dream was to be able to considered a “serious” critic by RottenTomatoes. Later in the game I realized that it was a bit unrealistic. Another dream of course is to go to the Venice Film Festival, which is the oldest and most respectable film festival to me. It’s where Sofia Coppola and Kim Ki-duk (the man that inspired the name of this blog) won the top prize. What about Cannes? So overrated! I’m kidding of course, Cannes would be great as well. I’ll keep dreaming and hopefully one day it’ll come true.

What’s going on right now? I’m sort of in a not so good place right now film-wise. I feel like I’ve seen every film I’m going to love, ever. Of course that notion is ridiculous, but I’m watching fewer and fewer films these days and I’m not inspired to find new ones like I used to. I feel like I’ve seen everything, but again, that’s just silly. I have tons of classics to catch up with, but I feel tired. It seems that every year less and less new films interest me. Maybe it’s time to move on and do something else. Or maybe it’s just the post-awards season.

Wow. Well, I realize that this isn’t how you do your celebratory anniversary posts, but this is what I’ve been thinking about. I’d like to continue this blog. I wish I was a professional and could do only this. I wish I could post everyday, multiple times a day. Instead I lowered my posting quota from one post per day to three posts per week. I’m thinking about maybe even lowering it to one post per week. I put a lot of work and effort into trying to do my best, but what is it all for? I wonder about that sometimes.

Then I remember. It’s about promoting the films I love. It’s about getting people excited for cinema. It’s about sharing that experience with people like me. People who love cinema, but don’t know a lot of people that care as much about it. People that have a lot of useless knowledge about this dying art form. People that see film as more than just entertainment, but as an expression of the human condition, as something necessary, as something vital. And in that moment I remember why it’s all worth it.

It’s about more than how many views you get. It’s about more than how many likes you get (although feel free to check out my Facebook page). It’s about love, as cheesy as it sounds, it’s always about love. The posts I feel most passionate about, the ones I’m really proud of, the ones where I put the most effort into are punctually my least read and commented on. In fact it actually makes me happy. I prefer quality. It’s not about how many viewers I have, but if I can get a someone to watch a film or think about a film in a different way.

I once read a great quote on a soda can, which unfortunately I can’t remember and the author was anonymous (no relation to the Occupy movement), but the message was: “If people agree with me I’m worried, because the only way that someone can understand what I’m trying to say is through misunderstanding”. And maybe I’m mixing up  multiple quotes here, that soda can was plastered with fantastic aphorisms I should have kept it. But what I’m trying to say is that it doesn’t matter what you do, it doesn’t matter what you blog about: If you don’t have passion, it’s all empty.

Put love into what you’re doing. Do what you love, that’s all that matters in the end. I’ve decided: If I see a film and I don’t feel like reviewing it, I won’t. Why waste my time? Why waste other people’s time with an uninspired review? The internet is already filled with filth, I don’t need to add new shit. So if you see my film ratings getting higher and higher: I did not become generous over night, I just try to watch better films and only review the ones I feel strongly about. Usually for me that means auteur cinema.

That’s it. That’s all my wisdom about blogging. It took me one year to understand it, but it was worth. I hope it inspires someone else, new bloggers, seasoned bloggers, professional bloggers, amateur bloggers, any bloggers. Once again I’d like to thank all the good people that read my blog and give me feedback on my posts. I appreciate your kind words. I hope that I’m better now than one year ago, I hope I’ll be better one year from now and I hope I’ll help and inspire others to be better as well.

Always striving to be: Harder. Better. Faster. Stronger.
God Bless You,
D.

13 comments

  1. The Thorn

    Congratulations!!! It’s been quite the journey and I’m happy to see that you’re continuing it. Black is White is one of my favourite blogs and i always look forward to seeing what you’ll write about next. 🙂

    On a different note, I echo your wish to get paid to do this and to more of it better. I choose to do more, because it keeps me focused. Better would depend on time, which I have only so much of. When I retire, I’ll work on “better”. 😛

    I also echo your sentiment about your best blogs. By far, the one I put the most work into are the ones that are the most ignored. But I remain satisfied with those ones because they turned more like I’d want them to.

    In the end, it’s all about doing something that pleases you, and hoping that it will please others as well. It doesn’t always work out, but, if you carry on long enough, you will gather more and more followers – if only because of your passion.

    Keep it up, Davide! You’re Doin’ It Right 🙂
    The Thorn

    • Davide Perretta

      Hey Thorn, thank you so much!! You know it means a lot, especially because I am a fan of your blog as well 🙂 I am glad to see that we share a lot of the same experiences. Overall I’m just feeling very thankful and that’s a good feeling, so thanks 😀

  2. thomasjford

    Davide, congrats on the anniversary man! Although I have invariably never seen any of the weird ass movies you talk about, they are still eloquently written, articulate pieces that display your truly love. So fair play to you sir, and long may it continue! I dare you to write a review about some terrible Adam Sandler comedy though!!!

  3. Alina (literaryvittles)

    Hello Davide! And happy 1 year of blogging! I’m always a bit sheepish about the fact that I can’t really celebrate my “blogiversary” because I posted sporadically for about a year and a half before I really settled down and got into a rhythm last September. So good for you for sticking with it from the beginning.

    As for quality vs quantity: Unless you are a beauty blogger writing about nail polish and eyeliner, I think it is better NOT to post every day. Yes, I know that more posts usually equals more views, but honestly, I would rather read ONE super in-depth review of a movie (like your take on “Noah”) than twenty superficial ones. You also review movies that I’ve never even heard of (!), and I don’t like indulging in too much repetitiveness. I skip 90% of the films that come out in the theater, because 1) I suspect that I’ll hate 90% of them and 2) it gets really expensive after a while, paying for all of those movie tickets! So yes, go ahead and review the auteur films if that’s what you love, and you’ll also be able to cultivate a more specific & devoted readership at the same time.

    Whew, sorry for the novel! Basically, keep up the good work. Cheers!

    • Davide Perretta

      Thank you so much Alina!! I am very thankful to have readers such as yourself 🙂 Of course I also enjoy reading your blog as well, although it’s not helping with my envy issues 😉 You’re definitely the most skilled writer out of all the blogs I follow!

      I wish I had time and inspiration to write more film analyses à la Noah. They’re some of my more popular posts.
      I agree with you about theaters releasing not so many great films unfortunately, but I’m happy to see how the industry is changing with VOD and social media.

      I also hope to make it to more film festivals. I think it’s the best place to enjoy films besides art houses. People there really seem to care about cinema and you get to see films before everyone else 😀

Leave a Reply

