Alphabet Movie Meme – A Self-Indulgent “Self-Interview” of 26 Movie-Related Questions

MP_100907_2
Originally created by The Drama Llama (funny blog name, I must say), the Alphabet Movie Meme is, a fun series of questions, all movie related of course. I found out about this on a blog I follow called Film Grimoire. If you know me at all or read my blog, chances are a lot of my answers will seem predictable to you, but I hope I can still surprise you with some of those letters. If you like this idea, please post your own Alphabet Movie Meme, I’d be really interested in reading other people’s answers. There are some fun questions and I’m sure other people have far less boring answers. In any case, here’s my own edition of the Alphabet Movie Meme. Enjoy! 

Anticipating Movie Of 2014
Prelude-to-a-Wholesome-Evening
Easy one. Nymphomaniac. Both volumes. Of course. You knew that though, right? What’s that? You didn’t see my post about my most anticipated films of 2014? Well, here’s a chance to catch up on that.

Book Adaptation I’d Love To See
boccaccio decameron
This is definitely one of those instances where I wish that I read more books. Since I usually pick up books that are either already being made into movies (or have been made into movies) or non-fiction, my pick isn’t anything new, really. Giovanni Boccaccio’s Decamerone (The Decameron) has already been filmed by Pier Paolo Pasolini in 1971. However Boccaccio’s book comprises 100 stories and a lot of those have never been filmed. Though I’ve only read a few of them in school, I loved all of them and I think a contemporary (Italian) director could bring an interesting spin on them (or just follow the book without any “post-modern” commentary, that would be fine too).

Celebrity I’d Most Like To Meet
sofia coppola
Do I really need to answer this one? Sofia Coppola. No doubt. Of course I’m not even sure if she considers herself a celebrity or if I would even have the courage to actually talk to her. I’d probably be starstruck, super nervous and speechless, but even if I magically wasn’t so: What could we possibly talk about? I’d probably come off as an annoying fanboy. I’m sure she gets a lot of that and it must become tiring after a while. Still, meeting Sofia Coppola would definitely be the highlight of my… Life?  

Dream Director/Actor Pairing
jonze:culkin
So many dream pairings have already happened. Alfred Hitchcock/Cary Grant, Darren Aronofsky/Jennifer Connelly, David Lynch/Laura Dern, Frank Capra/James Stewart, Francis Ford Coppola/Diane Lane, Federico Fellini/Marcello Mastroianni, Lars Von Trier/Udo Kier, Lukas Moodysson/Oksana Akinshina, Michelangelo Antonioni/Monica Vitti, Quentin Tarantino/Christoph Waltz,  Sofia Coppola/Elle Fanning, Spike Jonze/Rooney Mara, Whit Stillman/Chloë Sevigny, Wong Kar-wai/Tony Leung, Woody Allen/Mia Farrow and I could go on and on for days as you might have guessed.

So, but there’s one dream pairing we’ll never see is Federico Fellini/Monica Vitti, but I don’t want to go with that one, because it’s sad that it’ll never happen. Though Vitti is still alive and well (I hope), she’s no longer working and good old Fellini is no longer with us. Although picking a realistic one doesn’t really help, because there are just so many possibilities. Therefore I’ll pick the first one that comes to mind (even though it’s probably the wrong one or I’m sure there would be a better one) and say Spike Jonze/Macaulay Culkin. They seem like the perfect fit. Culkin hasn’t been working lately, but both as an actor and his persona seem to be apt for the weird and slightly melancholic atmosphere of a Spike Jonze film.

Essential Classic Film
dolce2_opt-1
Federico Fellini’s La Dolce Vita (1960)
. Since this one of my top ten films and I believe that it changed cinema forever I think this is one classic every film lover needs to have seen at least once in their life. Even if you won’t like it, I think you won’t be sorry if you watch it.

Favorite Film Franchise
Fast-and-Furious
Definitely the Fast & Furious franchise. I grew up with it, it got me into films and it seems to be getting better (or at least staying consistent) over time. My favorite entry is ‘Toyko Drift’. What else? I love that Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson is now part of the team. I was terribly heartbroken by Paul Walker’s untimely departure, may he rest in peace, and I look forward to seeing what James Wan does with the series.

Genre I Watch The Most
the-seventh-seal-chess-game
I don’t know if it counts as a genre, but I would have to go with art house cinema. I love indie film, foreign films, film’s nobody has seen. I watch them, I devour them, I obsess over them. They’re my daily bread.

Hidden Gem
Det Perfekte Menneske (1967)
I’m going to cheat a little and pick a short film, which also gives me the chance to shamelessly plug the review I wrote for it back in May when I first started blogging. The film in question is Jørgen Leth’s Det perfekte menneske (1967) known in inglés as The Perfect Man. I think this is a film not many have seen. I’ve discovered it thanks to Lars von Trier’s documentary The Five Obstructions, where Lars “forces” Jørgen to remake his own short. Fascinating documentary on filmmaking and ethics (and so many other things) by the way. So yeah, The Perfect Man is on YouTube and is only 13 minutes. You have no excuses!

Important Moment In My Film Life
island-2005-07-g
This is the part where I pick something really pretentious and “meaningful”, right? Wrong. The most important “moment in my film life”, if you want to call it like that, would have to be watching a pirate copy Michael Bay’s The Island (2005) on one of the first Acer 17″  TFT computer screens. Even though I was a kid at the time I remember it very clearly. This used to be my favorite film for a long time and rightfully so, I mean it got me into movies. Being a romantic and nostalgic person even if I had seen many much better films it stayed in the top spot for longer than it should have. Even though it’s not even in my top 100 today, I still have a great deal of affection for it (at least the first act) and Bay’s cinema. That’s also one reason I’ll defend Bay, when most cinephiles talk shit about him: One of his films got me into movies. I literally wouldn’t be writing this if it wasn’t for him.

Just Right For A Rainy Day
Happy Together (1997)
I’m not really sure why, but I always immediately think of Wong Kar-wai’s Happy Together (1997), when I think of rain in a movie. The film won him the Best Director at the Cannes Film Festival and is definitely a winner in my book as well. I’m not even sure it rains, but there’s a majestic image of a waterfall and some stunning scenes in black & white. I should probably re-watch this one, I think it’s my favorite Wong Kar-wai.

Kiddie Movie I Still Shamelessly Enjoy
968full-lemony-snicket's-a-series-of-unfortunate-events-screenshot
Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events (2004)
. Since I’m not really into animation, I’ll pick a “family movie”, granted it’s still pretty dark for this sort of film, but it counts. ‘Lemony Snicket’ is based on a popular book series and they obviously hoped to make start a profitable film franchise with then unknowns such as Emily Browning and Liam Aiken in the lead roles. The supporting cast though is pretty impressive featuring big names such as Jim Carrey, Jude Law and Meryl Streep. I thoroughly enjoyed this film even though I didn’t discover it as a kid, so I guess I’m kind of cheating again, but it’s for a good cause: This film needs to be seen. It is gorgeous.

Location I’d Most Like To Visit
Lost in Translation (2003)
The Park Hyatt Tokyo hotel from Sofia Coppola’s Lost in Translation (2003). Tokyo, Japan is one definitely high on the list of cities I want to visit anyways. The Chateaux Marmont from Somewhere (2010) is a close second. Also, the location from Michelangelo Antonioni’s Il deserto rosso (1964). I understand Red Desert was shot in Ravenna (Emilia-Romagna), but I don’t even know where that is…

Marathons I Watched
Sir Ian McKellan in a scene from THE LORD OF THE RINGS: THE FELLOWSHIP OF THE RING, 2001.
The only marathon I really ever remember doing was the one for the The Lord of the Rings trilogy. I had only seen a great chunk of the first film and I didn’t feel the need to watch all three films, but since everyone loves those movies and they’re so highly rated on IMDb I practically felt I had to: So why not get it over with in one night (and morning)? I liked the movies, for the most part, don’t get me wrong, but I can’t hop on the internet bandwagon. I don’t mind, I don’t have to like everything. 

Netflix Movie I Actually Watched
sorrynetflix
Yeah, no Netflix available in Switzerland. Also, that screen is not from my computer. I don’t even know what browser that is… Bonus: Since this is the letter N I’ll recommend a film title that starts with that letter: Federico Fellini’s Nights of Cabiria (1957).

One Movie I Saw In Theatres More Than Once
TRANSFORMERS: REVENGE OF THE FALLEN
Sad to say, but the only film I’ve seen more than once in theaters (twice to be exact) is Michael Bay’s Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen (2009). I went to see it the first time with my best friend at the time and then a second time while on holidays in Italy with my dad and my brother. I totally remember liking it too back then, though a lot of it probably had to do with my crush on Megan Fox.

Preferred Place To Watch A Movie: Cinema Or At Home?
large_inglorious_basterds_blu-ray12
Films were meant to be seen in cinemas. That’s they’re origin. That’s how most filmmakers want you to enjoy them, and not only because they make more money that way. Yes, sometimes it can be annoying with disrespectful and loud audiences, but nothing beats the novelty element and the big screen and high definition audio quality. That being said, the most important thing to me is not where I watch it, but who I watch it with. That’s why even the home video experience can be great. 

Quote That Inspires Me
pulp fiction
The single most inspiring quote in a movie ever. I believe it, I live it and I just love it.
Mia: Don’t you hate that?
Vincent: What?
Mia: Uncomfortable silences. Why do we feel it’s necessary to yak about bullshit in order to be comfortable?
Vincent: I don’t know. That’s a good question.
Mia: That’s when you know you’ve found somebody special. When you can just shut the fuck up for a minute and comfortably enjoy the silence.
– Quentin Tarantino’s Pulp Fiction (1994)

Remakes: Friend Or Foe?
dragon-tattoos
Foe, just on principle. That money could have gone to an original film. Then again sometimes big budget remakes make money and that money can go into original films. However I find it offensive when a foreign film gets remade just because international audiences don’t like reading subtitles or don’t care for movies that have no widely recognizable faces in them. Of course it’s especially painful when a favorite of yours gets remade, like Park Chan-wook’s Oldboy most recently. The thing is that mainstream audiences will remember the big budget version and if it sucks, they’ll say Oldboy sucks (for example), but that’s not the real movie!

Also if the movie happens to be good or okay and the remake is superior that’s even more offensive, because for many that’s the only version they’ll watch. What about good remakes or remakes by the same director himself? There’s those too, but the few and far between. Usually, those aren’t “really” remakes, but movies doing their own thing. What’s the point of a shot per shot remake? Seriously, I don’t get it. Usually, remakes work when the original wasn’t even that good to begin with. When the concept is great, but the execution was weak. Often times however, remakes get picked based on the popularity of the film brand. That’s why we get a lot of remakes of classics, cult films or otherwise beloved stories.

Snack I Enjoy Most
harold-and-kumar-go-to-white-castle-burgers-560x330
Burgers and potatoes
. Fast food in general: Pizza, m&m’s, ice cream, coke zero and chicken nuggets. Though it has to also fit thematically. If I watch an Asian film I prefer to eat Asian food, namely sushi, but also sweet sour chicken rice. If I watch an Italian film or a horror film usually nachos and beer for some reason or pasta. Pasta also goes along great with teen sex comedies (don’t ask, I wouldn’t know why). When I’m pretending to be on a diet it’s usually carrot sticks and sour cream. Salad and sparkling water (San Pellegrino) is perfect when I watch a newly released film. I love it because it usually takes me a while to eat, so it lasts for large part of the film.

Juice (or soft drinks) and chips, crackers, grissini or taralli is a perfect mid-day snack, for when I watch movies in the afternoon. Usually though I watch movies during dinner, so it’s often just a sandwich or some canned fish. When I can relax in the morning I love to eat breakfast or brunch. That’s a long list of foods, but I’ll skip it. I think I gave you already too much information about my eating habits. You don’t need to know all this shit, but I hope it inspires you in case you need that. Sometimes, just to switch it up a little, I just sip on some natural water (Evian mostly, Acqua Panna ideally).

Thrilling Movie That Blows My Mind
2001: A Space Odyssey (1968)
Stanley Kubrick’s 2001: A Space Odyssey (1968). For once I feel like I’m giving you the “right” answer. This is an incredible movie. How did it even get made? What does it mean? Did Kubrick himself fully understand it? What’s with the ending? So amazing. So many questions left unanswered. So many beautiful scenes. It’s just beyond words really. I don’t know what I could possibly say about it that hasn’t been said before. I’m sure many people feel this way about 2001, but in case you haven’t seen it make it a priority.

Unapologetic Fanperson For
Kim Ki-duk
Since I’ve mentioned Sofia Coppola numerous times in this article, I’ll go with South Korean auteur Kim Ki-duk. His films are just something to behold. He can do no wrong in my eyes. He inspired the name of this blog. He inspires me when I try to tell my own stories. I feel really grateful for every film of his we get. This is probably the director I’m most “in tune” with on a narrative, storytelling level. I feel that he gets me. I think we see the world and humanity the same way. Wow! that was way pretentious, but it’s also true.

Very Excited For Award Season?
Emma-Watson-at-the-MTV-Movie-Awards-1833435
Not really. Not as much as I used to be. The Golden Globes are pretty much just a scam. The Oscars are faux pretentious bullshit, where the people who really deserve to win don’t even get nominated and instead a crappy Weinstein film will get eight fucking nominations (looking at you Silver Linings Playbook). I’ve also had it with pictures pandering to the Academy’s old white man demographic. We get it: All you watch are period dramas, where people wear fancy costumes and have British accents or movies about how cruel the white male was during the colonial period. Sorry about the rant, but I definitely won’t be watching movies solely because they were nominated for Oscars this year.

Other award shows I usually watch are the MTV Movie Awards. Even though they obviously don’t take themselves very seriously it is kind of annoying to see the latest young adult film adaptation take away all the top prizes. Still like the Globes or the Oscars, the show itself is usually fairly entertaining to watch. And I always have this stupid hope that one of my darlings, that had the good fortune to be nominated, will actually win and justice will be served (as if my opinion is the only right one). One last award show I truly hate are the Golden Raspberries (or “Razzies” as they’re called). I just don’t get what people get out of remembering the year’s worst films. Why not move on and forget those even exist?

Wish I Had Never Watched…
you-dont-mess-with-the-zohan-501725d183838
You Don’t Mess With the Zohan (2008)
. Again, I don’t really like to talk about movies I hate: a) because I could be spending that time thinking about something I enjoyed and makes me happy, b) because I give the shitty movie some extra attention it doesn’t deserve and c) because I feel bad for the people involved in the project that actually just did their work and did it well and aren’t responsible for the lousy results. That’s also the reason why I mostly review films I like.

I watched ‘Zohan’ when I still wasn’t really a film buff. At that time the trailer seemed kind of funny and I liked Adam Sandler, but man, that movie just made me angry. I felt like I wasted my afternoon and could have done something productive instead. It’s definitely one of those movies I wish I could completely erase from my mind, like it never happened. It’s just beyond words how bad that movie is. I don’t even want to think about it. It makes me sick, like physically. Not exaggerating.

XXX Movie I First Watched At A Young Age (R or NC-17!)
benhur1959-19
Now, this might sound like a weird answer, but let me explain. I was brought up in a fairly conservative environment so there weren’t any R-rated movies until I was a teenager and procured those for myself. So the raciest thing I ever got to see as a little kid was Ben-Hur (1959), which of course would be a PG-13 film by today’s standards. The only reason I got to see it was because it’s my dad’s favorite film of all time. While it’s not that big of a deal, it is fairly violent and though for a kid and since I hadn’t seen many other movies at that time it made quite an impact on me. Also, in Europe ratings tend to be stricter about violence (this was considered an “adult film”), whereas as you know in the States sexuality is the main “issue”.

Your Latest Movie-Related Obsession
the bow
Love this question, because I always tend to have phases where I obsess over a certain type of film. I just got out of a Lolita thing, where I would seek out all movies with an older man/young woman relationship and now I transitioned into a South Korean cinema obsession. My love for South Korean cinema is nothing new, but with Asian fare in general I tend to have specific times of the year where I’m more receptive for it. Now, of course being home for the holidays I won’t have much time for it, but I’ll still try to sneak in a couple Korean flicks here and here.

ZZZ-Catchers: Name A Movie That Has Put You To Sleep!
intolerance
Let me bring up a classic here. Intolerance: Love’s Struggle Throughout the Ages (1916). I always have a hard time focussing with silent films, it takes some getting used to, but it’s usually worth it. However ‘Intolerance’ is a very racist film. I dislike its know-it-all attitude and I just think it’s so fucking boring. Just terrible to sit through almost 3 fucking hours of relentless on the nose pandering. Controversial choice, but I wanted to say this for a long time and I got it off of my chest.

I feel bad for ending on such a negative note. Let’s see, what could I say tie up the discussion here..? Damn it, I’ve got nothing. I guess I would be happy to read other people’s take on the Alphabet Movie Meme. If you make a similar post leave a link in the comments section. I’m very interested to read you answers! If you have feedback on my answers, that’s fine too. I hope I didn’t offend anyone with some of my negative picks…

13 comments

    • davideperretta

      Thanks, my friend! Look forward to see your Movie Alphabet 🙂
      I should totally do a Godfather marathon! I love those movies (even the third one) and now that I think of it, I’m actually surprised I haven’t done one yet..

  1. Pingback: The Alphabet Movie Meme Challenge | Oh! That Film Blog
  2. Katy Rochelle

    Thanks for participating in my move meme! I’ve added your post to my official meme page. 🙂
    Is it a shame to say the only marathon I haven’t done yet is LOTR? I so desperately want to, but as a book nerd, want to read the series first…Some day I’ll get around to it. 🙂

  3. literaryvittles

    Ah, this was fun to read! I’ve also done the LOTR marathon, of course… I liked that you picked the Tokyo hotel that was the setting for “Lost in Translation” – one of my favorite movies. However, I was sad to hear that you didn’t like “Silver Linings Playbook”! I loved that movie. I thought “American Hustle” was terrible in comparison.

    • davideperretta

      Thanks 🙂
      Always great to meet fellow Lost in Translation fans!
      Yeah, maybe I watched ‘Silver Linings’ on a bad day or in the wrong mood. Maybe I’m just too cynical or have a different world view (hey! that didn’t sound pretentious at all). Or, third maybe, David O. Russell’s films aren’t for me…
      I can see why other people like the movie, but I was a bit stunned to see it get so many accolades.
      I don’t know if this happens to you too, but every year there seems to be a movie that comes out of nowhere and gets hailed as a masterpiece. And maybe if ‘Silver Linings’ didn’t get all the awards nominations it got, I wouldn’t be so hard on it, but I can’t help but being affect by it (which of course only proves my reasoning to be illogical/irrational). I don’t know what do you think?

Leave a Reply

