Meh: A Lizard in a Woman’s Skin (1971) and Going the Distance (2004)

A Lizard in a Woman’s Skin (1971) – 6.5 (IMDb 6.9) – Giallo, Mystery, Horror (Italy)
Una Lucertola Con La Pelle Di Donna is considered a classic of Italian giallo cinema of the 1970s. I wasn’t overly impressed with this film who just tried to pull to many stunts and constantly seemed to want to put one over the viewer. I guess  if you like lots of plot twists and reveals every ten minutes you’ll love this one. However I found the characters poorly developed (aside from their physical traits), the actors seemed mostly stale (maybe it was the dubbing) and the whole film was essentially just plot-driven (which I tend to not be a huge fan of). Lucio Fulci certainly is a capable director and I appreciate his crazy camera movements, but aside from looking stylish, a couple titillating scenes and having a dope score by Ennio Morricone the film didn’t have much else to offer to me. I felt a bit let down and there are definitely much better giallos you could and should watch before this one.

Going the Distance (2004) – 6 (IMDb 5.3) – Comedy (Canada)
I tend to be a sucker for a good teen sex comedy. Going the Distance is a standard, cliché film that will satisfy your urge for a raunchy and unrealistically romantic romp. We’ve seen this story a thousand times before: Guy and girl have to do the whole distance thing, girl cheats on guy, guy finds out he deserves better. Nothing new, but also a fairly entertaining film, aside from some annoying misogynist and the usual unnecessarily and excessively vulgar humor. Films like this one however almost need to be excessive and completely unrealistic, because that’s what you watch them for. Well, that and the eye candy. I’m not going to lie and say I hated this film, because it was fun to some degree and I am an unabashed fan of the sub-genre, but of course I can’t put it in the good category either. I must say the film made me feel a bit old with its 2000s pop-punk soundtrack and Avril Lavigne. One last thing I’ll mention is Mayko Nguyen, it’s no secret I have a thing for Asian chicks and she’s a fox, I wish she was in more movies!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

