First Trailer For Diablo Cody’s ‘Paradise’

Like I’ve said in my previous post about the film I am looking forward to whatever Diablo Cody does, but I can’t help but feel a little skeptical about her directing. This trailer looks “okay”, but I hope it’s not just “bashing of Christians just for the sake of bashing Christians”. What I mean is: I hope it’s not more shallow making fun of religious people, and admittedly religious nuts exist and deserve to be called out, but I hope this isn’t a preachy/judgy type of film.

With that being said, the whole idea of a main character wanting to sin reminds me a whole lot of my favorite Sono Sion film Love Exposure (2008). In that movie a teenage boy was trying hard to sin, because his father (a priest) forced him to confess his sins even if he hadn’t any to confess. So the kid decides to do some serious sinning, might as well right? Maybe Cody has seen that movie and was inspired by it, maybe not. Either way I’m only being cautious here because I’ve been burned before in my over-excitement for a film, numerous times actually.

I do love Octavia Spencer‘s line “Let me guess you came here to be a showgirl” which is obviously a reference to Paul Verhoeven’s 1995 film Showgirls. It’s that kind of witty dialogue that I love and look forward most, but Julianne Hough has yet to convince me as a charismatic lead. Russell Brand‘s character looks funny, he’s doing the usual british shtick which seems to be working out for him. All in all Paradise could be good, but I guess we’ll find out when it comes out later this year, that is October 18th to be precise.

2 comments

  1. miumiu ポーチ

    After using established women directors, the films are
    imbued with the help of credibility. Women, by
    nature love to keep their possessions inside of purses,
    wallets and as a result pouches.

Leave a Reply

